Masthead Summer/Fall 2017

Summer/Fall 2017 Editors


Laura Valeri, Managing Editor 

Laura Valeri is the author of two story collections, Safe in Your Head, a winner of the Stephen F. Austin University literary prize in fiction, and The Kind of Things Saints Do, an Iowa/John Simmons Award winner and winner of the Binghamton University John Gardner Award. Her work appears in numerous magazines.  She is a Sewanee Walter E. Dakins Fellow in Fiction, and a Hambidge Fellow. You can find her online at Write, Rather (


Theresa Welford: Editor, Narrative Nonfiction and Poetry

Theresa Malphrus Welford grew up near Savannah, Georgia. She has published poetry, creative nonfiction, book chapters, and academic articles, as well as two edited collections of poetry: The Paradelle and The Cento (both published by Red Hen Press). Theresa and her husband, Mark Welford, happily share their home with countless rescued animals (cats and dogs).


Monique Bos: Editor, Fiction and Poetry

Monique Bos holds an M.A. in English from Penn State University, where she wrote her thesis on Morticia Addams and Lily Munster. In a previous life, she served as a magazine, newspaper, and corporate communications writer/editor. She now teaches first-year writing at Georgia Southern University, and her short fiction has appeared in Vestal Review, Muscadine Lines, and several anthologies.


James Cody Phenis: Review Editor, Copyeditor

James Cody Phenis is an MFA candidate at Georgia College and State University in Milledgeville, GA. He is an aspiring editor and writer who graduated Magna Cum Laude with a B.A. in Writing & Linguistics from Georgia Southern University. He currently resides in southeast Georgia, but has dreams of making it out to the West Coast.


Olivia Hester: Blogger, Nonfiction Assistant Editor

Olivia Hester is a writer, editor, and artist who lives in Statesboro with her dog and significant other.





Summer 2017 Editorial Interns


Matthew Enfinger

Genevieve Dietz

Shelby Head

Michelle Norsworthy

Samantha Harvey

Alasia Dart


and Joshua Tomlinson


Editorial Advisory Board


Benjamin Drevlow

Burney Marsh

Christina Olson

Jared Yates Sexton

Theresa Malprus Welford

Laura Valeri